Getting to know Vancouver!

Hi folks!

Right now I’m at a Starbucks in Grandville Island, just about two miles south of Vancouver. I’ll pedal back to town soon.
My first impression of Vancouver was good, but I have had mixed feelings about it so far. The city seems to have a very large and dense population of homeless people which makes going around with an expensive bicycle a little trickier. Other than that it’s been great.

Entering British Columbia, Canada


Arriving in Vancouver, BC

Right now I’m at a hostel called American Backpacker’s Hostel right in the downtown area. It’s the worst place I have stayed in this entire trip, including the bad motels in Oklahoma. I’m not sure if this hostel is bad or all hostels are like this, but there I found a legion of drug addicts, drunk teenagers who scream all night long old and dirty everything, etc. I’m sharing the room with 6 more people, most of them like that as well. On the corridors that are girls hanging around smoking pot and dressed in such a way I can only assume they are prostitutes. I need to make some more pictures of this hostel and will post them soon.
I can’t say this experience has been completely bad, it was in a way interesting to see this kind of environment. However, I’m eager to get out of there tomorrow.
I’m planning on catching a ferry to Victoria, and camp there for a few days. I’m still considering a few options for the next month or so, I’ll give more details as soon as I decide what’s next!


Bhajan and I. He guided me through a complicated trail leading to Vancouver.

A painting in one of Vancouver’s streets.
The internet access here has been limited to wifi spots, and even then it is fairly slow so I couldn’t upload the late videos. I will do so as soon as I catch a better Wi-Fi. 😀
Alright, it’s time for me to look for a laundry and get my clothes washed, then find a place to eat. 
Cheers!!
Leave a Reply

